Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    645

    6.5 throttle setup and install questions

    Ok, please dont kill me for bringing this up. I will be getting my clone tomorrow and putting it in my db30. I want to know what the best throttle linkage method is, because i have seen quite a few. Also, what else should i expect when putting this in the DB? I got the mounting plate so it should be easy. My last question is, how can i disable the low oil switch? do you disconnect the wires, join the two wires together? Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Banned Strigoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Martinez, CA
    Posts
    9,998
    do a search to find out how to hook up the throttle. there's been quite a few different ways posted.

    you'll probably need to add/remove links from the chain. you'll want a chain tool if you're going to do that.

    you can just cut the low oil sensor wire where it goes into the case.

  3. #3
    Senior Member maddcarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Riverside County, California.
    Posts
    1,669
    idk i would leave it in cause if u lay it down it saves the motor

  4. #4
    yea but when you take corners or jump the engine dies

  5. #5
    and you dont need a chain tool...just a grinder a set of pilars a flathead screw driver and master links

  6. #6
    I did use the search to find how to hook up the throttle. But im asking everyone what the BEST way is. Most fool proof, already have what i need, wont break. That kind of thing. And why will i have to shorten my chain?

  7. #7
    Banned Strigoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Martinez, CA
    Posts
    9,998
    there's no best way to do it. there have been many ways posted that work well.

  8. #8
    Senior Member joekd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    2,223
    Quote Originally Posted by wolfgang123 View Post
    and you dont need a chain tool...just a grinder a set of pilars a flathead screw driver and master links
    Why do it the hard way when a chain tool is only a buck or two at any sporting goods store?

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Rockford, IL.
    Posts
    1,737
    Don't use a chain breaker, if at all possible. When you push a rivoted pin through the bore, it screws it up. Grind off the rivoted part(s), and push it through. The bore stays nice and smooth.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    645
    I dont understand how a chain breaker works. If there isnt a master link, arent all the little rods like, welded to the link? How would a chain breaker push a pin through the link? And since when do you have to remove links? I have ctjmini mounting plate, does that make a difference? I never heard anyone say you have to remove links

Similar Threads

  1. comet setup questions
    By getsum in forum More than two wheels.
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-20-2010, 02:42 AM
  2. Help with throttle setup for B&S 3.5 hp
    By laker_42 in forum More than two wheels.
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 10:25 PM
  3. Ruttman Mule Brake setup questions....
    By Eliminator in forum General MiniBike Talk
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-06-2010, 08:24 PM
  4. Throttle setup
    By supernova in forum Honda / Clone / Predator Engines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 03:53 PM
  5. How to install the throttle cable to B&S eng
    By magoo in forum Engines and Modifications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2008, 10:28 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •