`
OldMiniBikes.com Home Page Vintage Mini Bike Forum Vintage Mini Bike Pictures
Register Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   OldMiniBikes.com Forum > General > Engines and Modifications > Tecumseh Engines

Become a Supporting Member of OldMiniBikes.com today and enjoy less advertisements, unlimited photo hosting, and many other benefits listed on this page. Supporting Memberships help pay for bandwidth costs, software upgrades and the time that goes into this site.

Old 01-17-2011, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)

Tecumseh OHH60 - Governor setting

As you can tell by my previous questions/posts I am new to these engines, and learning alot from the collective knowledge on this forum. This is on a 2 year old 6HP engine: I have NO intention on removing the governor, however I do want to make sure it has the PROPER setting/adjustment. On this engine there are 5 holes (# 1 at the top to # 5 at the bottom) on the governor arm for the spring to hook into.Currently, on my engine the spring is hooked into hole # 1 (the top hole)- Is that the correct hole for optimum performance for the engine used on a mini-bike? I ask because I am having some idling problems and was wondering if the two issues are related?
Thank you
creia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 12:11 AM   #2 (permalink)

mines on the bottom but not my prob the govenor used to kick that arm when the engine would bog down and keep the it runing as low idle as i wanted but i took it out now it wont kick that arm and i have same exact prob as u
ogsigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)

I know the overall function of the governor itself, but what is the purpose/function of these different governor spring settings (holes)?
Old 01-19-2011, 09:21 AM   #4 (permalink)

Thanks Ogsigh for the reply. can anybody else help me out with the proper governor arm (spring) settings and their function on this engine?
Thank you