Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fat bastard

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides

Fat bastard

Hey been a while since I posted and just started to get back into my minis again. See lots cool new stuff on site. Have a warrior with 6.5 has AGK 265 cam, 18lb springs,22 mikuni no block work .question is I'm big bastard 300+lb will a torque converter work,as I remember researching them and they had weight restrictions in catalog "TAV units" I see them on two up off-road karts that gotta be that heavy. Also I guess the comet knock offs are fairly new never saw them before. I'm sure if did search on here I would find info on them but is it worth a shot for under $75 or TAV only or stick with clutch ? Thank in advance good 2b back

Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    I'm no expert but my best guess is that the experts would suggest that you would be fine with a TAV as long as you get the best belt available and your bike is geared properly.

Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    I'm no expert either but have two bikes with tavs.They do put them on high output go-karts that weigh a ton so don't see a problem.True you need to have any tav coupled with the right rear sprocket to match riding area.My Trailmaster mb200-2 has a tav and a 52t rear sprocket and it does ok on inclines and dirt roads..If you weigh alot and ride off road some I'd say a 60t would be better coz tav belts will slip and wear out if gearing too high.

Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    Iím 350+ and had a Mini Baja with a TAV and it pulled me up the hills at Windber no problem. And I only run the Chinese TAVs.Go for it.
    Last edited by gumpit; 03-11-2018 at 10:38 PM.

Gumpit

Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rides
    Go with the TAV. I have a 250lb two seater kart that hauls 160lb me and a 180lb friend up any hill you throw at it. Gearing and tuning are critical.