Recent content by Dr. Shop Teacher

1. Dr. Shop Teacher

Timing Help!!!

Did you set the timing to the proper setting? 0.065 BTDC--I've had a heck of a time with my 69 Tec H35, also. Runs then dies.
  2. Dr. Shop Teacher

Gumpit's Cast Off--1970 CAT 300SS

It ain't done. I'm going to ask Karen to move it to projects as I did get a lot done as you'll see. Life interfered....again and I did not have time to post as I got things done, but it's all documented. Like all of us, COVID changed my world and, as a university professor, my classes had to go...
  3. Dr. Shop Teacher

Valve Removal and Coil Repair: While I've not posted for a bit, I have documented what's been happening. The valves came out pretty easily. The engine is old enough where it had two keepers per valve (upper and lower retainer). The exhaust valve had a ton of carbon on it, but both cleaned up...
  4. Dr. Shop Teacher

HPE Muskin CAT Chain Guide

Thank you, Andy, for coming through!
  5. Dr. Shop Teacher

Need help with a HS30...

My two cents--Setting the points can be a bear. You think you've got them right and then you do a final check, and they are off. I wish I had a trick other than another set of hands to hold the feeler gauge and points in place when you tighten it all back down.
  6. Dr. Shop Teacher

HPE Muskin CAT Chain Guide

OldMiniBikes doesn't carry these anymore. Anybody have one in decent shape? Send me a PM. Thanks!
  7. Dr. Shop Teacher

Engine Tear Down: As I mentioned, this is first "real" mini engine and is a 3.5hp Tecumseh. Over the summer, I had power washed it to get the tons of grease off it. I'm certain it needs a pto side crank seal and there was a bunch of gunk behind shroud extension....so I was anxious to how it...
  8. Dr. Shop Teacher

Vintage 1970 Broncco tx2/tx1