Recent content by EricD..

1. E

Converting non charging hs50 to charging

That looks great! Couple questions. How did you clean the parts? Everything looks brand new. What did you use for a crank shaft?
  2. E

Hey guys, I really need help finding this engine, or the 5hp version preferably. I need it for my MTD trail flite, I want to keep it original.

Yes you can but finding a lighting coil and flywheel for an early HS40 is a little difficult and pricy. But they do come up for sale. If you can live with the more square shroud there are more options out there. I’m no expert, But I just went through this. I ended up finding a 1970 lighting...
  3. E

Hey guys, I really need help finding this engine, or the 5hp version preferably. I need it for my MTD trail flite, I want to keep it original.

They are out there. Expensive. Good option is to find a snowblower. They are usually cheap and be converted over
  4. E

1970 vs 1971 Rupp blue color difference

Send them a message. They are super helpful for me. I used the paint code that had provided for the red for 1970 Roadster. I had a pant supply place mix up the paint. I used acrylic urethane. Came out fantastic! Color is right on.
  5. E

H50 Snow blower motor

Speaking of parts. Where can you get new parts for the Hs40? Pistons and rings in particular
  6. E

Merry Christmas to all!

Merry Christmas
  7. E

Lighting Coil Questions

Thanks, Again guys. Yes I know the squared housing is undesirable. It’s what’s been on there since I had it for about 34 years. So to me it looks normal. I do think about changing it though. I do have an early HS40. I’m not sure what to do with. It would need the crank tapped and the...
  8. E

Lighting Coil Questions