Flywheel magnets

I dropped my flywheel for my HS40 magnets fell out one broken. Are the magnets supposed to be in a certain order and need one replacement magnet.need so assistance from an expert out there kurt

I'm not an expert by any means, but I have replaced loose magnets on my 8 hp tecumseh.

I used a two part epoxy for metal. You should be able to see the spots they were originally attached. Put them back on those spots.

Regarding the broken one...if it did not shatter, I'd think you could epoxy both pieces down ? Here's where I hope the experts will come in.

Perhaps your could source a new magnet from another flywheel off a similar motor, or maybe one of the experts knows where to source them ?

Keep us posted, and good luck.

old shed finds

OMG guys don't glue these.... Please.
If you run like we do ..Full Throttle they will fly off like a bullet from a gun....just Ebay replacement flywheel. ...

markus

OMG guys don't glue these.... Please.
If you run like we do ..Full Throttle they will fly off like a bullet from a gun....just Ebay replacement flywheel. ...
If you run "full throttle" they will never fly off......It's when you come to a stop that the problem shows up. Since the magnets will be attracted to the stator plate, it will pull and possibly overtake the 35-45 year old epoxy glue that they used to install them. Go to pull the cord and "clunk" and locks up as the magnet wedges into the stator......not that its ever happened to me :p The lighted flywheels are most problematic since there is always pull on a magnet when at rest (plus they have a magnet and a metal shim glued to that).

Here's a visual aid.....pretend these little girls are magnets in the flywheel