5 horse Briggs questions

Hi, I'm a noob to this single cylinder scene. I just recently purchased a home built mini chopper to use as a pit bike for when I go to the drag strip. I classify it as a mini chopper, but it is a little over 7 feet long. It has a fairly new 5 horse Briggs on it. The model number is 135202 and the type is 0015 01. I was just wondering if there are any performance mods that I can do to this engine to give it a little more zip ( got to be able to beat some golf carts at the track )? It has an older style carb on it right now, but I am looking at replacing it with one that is factory for the engine ( unless I can find a performance one that would work on it ). Any tips and pointers will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jared

minidragbike

Supporting Speed Nut!
A aftermarket pipe, and carb should wake your little sleeper up a little. You can find parts at a good price from Turk Bros. www.tbrwins.com

Just make sure you don't blow the rod out of the block.

BTW welcome to the OldMiniBikes forums.

Thanks for the reply, I will be sure to check them out. Here are some pics of the mini chopper that I got from the guy I bought it off of.

[/IMG]
[/IMG]
[/IMG]
[/IMG]
[/IMG]

Ya you are pretty stretched out when you ride, but that was the type of bike I was looking for. The guy that built the bike was only 16 at the time and built the frame and tank by hand. I have some minor changes I want to make ( paint and what not ) but the basic style will stay the same. Prolly ride it around the rest of the year and then try to sell it. If I get it sold great, if I dont I will just ride it around more.

A aftermarket pipe, and carb should wake your little sleeper up a little. You can find parts at a good price from Turk Bros. www.tbrwins.com

Just make sure you don't blow the rod out of the block.

BTW welcome to the OldMiniBikes forums.
Have you seen this happen often? I have put a dry 100hp nitrous shot on a 5hp and the rod did not leave its home!:thumbsup: