A heart with no body; the Turbo 10hp Briggs & Stratton. Aka Timebomb.(56K beware!)

65ShelbyClone

A heart with no chassis; the Turbo 10hp Briggs & Stratton. Aka Timebomb.(56K beware!)

I know mdb mentioned my project a few times, but rather than derail the "intro" thread, I thought I would showcase the whole thing here where I have the room for pictures, commentary, and feedback. You all seem to like old stuff, weird stuff, and going fast, so I'll share my old, weird, and hopefully fast engine.

I usually have time to let my mind wander and my interest in fast cars led to interest in powerful engines. Putting time + interest together, I got the idea to turbocharge a lawntractor engine. I already had the engine from a Montgomery Ward tractor and a small spare IHI turbo from a DIY turbine engine project.This was the original idea circa 2001-2002:

I wanted to squeeze every last drop of power out while spending as little as possible, so I studied some on old school flathead porting techniques and went nuts on the Briggs. I didn't have any fuel parts or plan at this point:

Oh yeah, and some DIY titanium retainers:

I wanted to be able to intercool it, so a draw-through carb setup was out. That left the options to a blow-through carb or EFI. Since they both needed nearly the same fuel system components, I decided on EFI. I and had the idea to retrofit a system from an '89-90 Nissan 240SX:

After literally weeks of intense research, it became clear the the Nissan JECS system was going to be a tuning nightmare for something this far removed from the original 2.4L engine. It can be chipped and tuned for a car just fine, but not this; I would be in uncharted territory. After several months of tinkering with and studying electronics, I broke down and bought a MegaSquirt EFI computer kit(assembly required).