Can you ID this Briggs?

NorCal

So appearly I have this uncanny ability to find engines with no serial numbers on them (its a gift I guess). This 5hp I picked up 5 years ago and it ran when parked (don't they all) but now I have no spark. I sanded on the flywheel and the magneto and I still have no spark. So I figured I need a new magneto but without knowing what this engine is, I'm at a loss as to which part to order. I looked at the magneto looking for some identifable part number to no avail.

Granted I'm new to the hobby and just learning, so I figured maybe someone here could point me in the right direction.

Found this guy, looks simular?

http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-5...0001&campid=5335845805&icep_item=162106072799

Thanks in advance.

IMG_0512.JPG IMG_0513.JPG

IMG_0511.JPG IMG_0514.JPG

Last edited:
If those pics are your engine, you have, or should have the numbers. They should be on the bottom side of your fan shroud. Sometimes, when too much paint is applied, the numbers get obscured. Try some fine grit sandpaper. Start about where you pull start rests and work around to the other side of the shroud. If you sand lightly enough to reveal the bare metal, but not start scraping it away, you should be able to read the numbers.

NorCal

If those pics are your engine, you have, or should have the numbers. They should be on the bottom side of your fan shroud. Sometimes, when too much paint is applied, the numbers get obscured. Try some fine grit sandpaper. Start about where you pull start rests and work around to the other side of the shroud. If you sand lightly enough to reveal the bare metal, but not start scraping it away, you should be able to read the numbers.
Didn't find them underneath the fan shroud, but along the side under several layers of paint.

Model Type Code
130202 0015 01 78042506

Serial #
B-143925

NorCal