Hemi 212cc Predator Increased Compression Clearances

Brand new to the forum. Thanks for having me. Been working on first engine and first project.

Anybody have experience with increasing compression on these 212 Hemi engines? It is all brand new to me.

I don't want to do any Milling.

I have a Black Mamba Jr Cam (0.275 lift) and want to use +0.020 Rod, stock piston, and perhaps a thinner head gasket, but I don't know how much room I've got to work with.

Found a build on here which is similar to mine, using same cam, 0.020 Rod, Stock gasket and milled 0.030. BUT I can't post the link.

What is a "SAFE" rod and gasket size without milling?? Is there a chance that the +0.020 Rod is too long for even the stock gasket??

I don't want to tear it apart yet because the weather just got nice. I will measure myself after some play time, but wanted to start this discussion before so I have an idea.

Thanks in advance.

Going on a buggy with 30 series TC, 7.5:1 gearing and 16"Tires. Max RPM 5000 (Cam not installed)

Did you measure how much in the hole the stock flat top piston is. On most of mine it was .015 to .018 (4 motors) others have measured more but if it is less than .020 then you may have a slight popup. As long as you are using a un milled head you could possibly get by with a .009 predator metal head gasket as there is no squish area. You would have to clay it to make sure you had at least .030 piston to head clearance at the edge of the piston where it would be the closest. If you were using a regular non hemi head it would be a problem cause you would not have .030 piston to head clearance.

Thanks for your response. I've been reading up on this a little, but am still a little confused - mostly due to my zero engine experience.:helpsmilie:
Did you measure how much in the hole the stock flat top piston is.