Longer bolt for Rear Axle on Bt200x

Hello,
I welded up a rear rack for the Coleman yesterday, and the rear axle bolt (obviously) is too short.
I could buy a $45 bolt from the Coleman Rack, but i don't want to spend over $20.
I checked McMaster-Carr, Grainger, Amazon, Lowes, and some other companies for a 5/8 x 14 inch bolt, but i can't seem to find it.
I'm sure some of you guys welded your own rear racks, so there has got to be a cheaper bolt...
Would it be hard on the bearings to buy a longer, fully threaded bolt, then cut it to the correct length?
I also considered welding on another bolt, to lengthen the existing bolt, but i don't have the skill, or the welder to do this.
Thanks in advance!
Gabe

Sheesh... that should have been easy...! I'm still a newbie in the field! :rolleyes:
Thanks for your help Michael!
Gabe

Last edited:
Post a picture of your rack. I’d like to see it. Been thinking of something to do for my daughters bt200x.
I'm welding some more stuff on it this afternoon, and I still need to paint it. I'll post it this evening.
This is my first welding fabrication project.

Last edited:
5/8 = .625

Sounds metric???

Do you have a shorter 5/8(.625) bolt that you could confirm the fit thru the bearings with B4 buying the 14" off FleaBay?
Brand new stock is 14mm, or 0.55 inches.
I can't find a 14mm x355 bolt anywhere.
Think i could pull off a 1/2-11x14 bolt?

I could also sand it down a little to make it fit. $11 gamble.

I'm believing 1/2" bolt will be a sloppy fit.

Do you have a shorter 5/8" & 1/2" bolt to check fit with?
I just went back to the shop, tried out a whole buncha bolts, only an 11/16th fits.
I am giving up the idea of a longer axle mount. I can't find an 11/16thx 14 inch bolt. o_O

I am gonna try to fix it to the frame somehow. Anybody have a suggestion on that?

You just need a CT200U axle. Its' 15mm and 333mm long. I had a quick look for one. There's a supplier with "warehouse" in it's name that has one for $14.