My Sears Project

I am finally going to finish a Sears minibike project I've been sitting on for a few years. I have actually known the bike for about 13 years. One of my friends bought it from another friend in high school and we completely rigged up an old briggs on it and ran the crap out of it for a few years. Then one day the carb caught on fire, we put it out with a fire extinguisher and it never ran again. Since my buddy knew I always liked it he offered it to me for 25 bucks after we graduated from college because he was moving out of state. I also had to promise that I would bring it back to life someday. I have been collecting a few parts here and there over the last few years and now I'm going to put it all together.

So far I have repaired the handle bars and my brother and I welded up the hack job my friends and did on the mount plate for the briggs. I bought a Honda GC160 for it so I could go back to using the factory gas tank. I am also going to use a jackshaft setup that I put together using some of the original parts I found in a box of things my buddy gave me with it. From the parts that were in the box it looks like it had a 2 speed jackshaft setup originally.

I just finished completely disassembling it after mocking all the parts up so that I can send it in for sandblasting. Then I'm going to decide whether I will paint or powdercoat it.

I will update this thread with more pictures in a few days. I can't seem to find the ones I took when I first got it and it was all together with the smoked briggs. Here is one picture of it partially disassembled to give you an idea of what I am working with:grind::

bandit 40

Well, it looks like a lot of the hard to find parts ,you already have :thumbsup: so your project shouldn't be to awfully hard to complete, Them bikes ride really nice...good luck on your build...Mark:smile:

furyus