Nice CL find

Think I got lucky. 150 bones for the racing raptor and 150 for the doodlebug. The raptor was built by Turk Bros racing, 14hp on alcohol max 7100 rpm. Good winter project ;) db30.jpg raptor.jpg

buckeye

300 bucks of fun right there.

I am close to just buying a good engine and know it's done right.
By the time you buy parts and the time it takes to hope you got it right, it is almost worth dropping cash for a built engine.

But, then you'd be a gold chainer.:laugh:

Build , learn , build again , learn and build again , by the time you get it right could've had 5 engines , lol ! It's really not that tuff , with the help from the fabulous folks on this site and some time doing your homework , even a Caveman can do it !

But, then you'd be a gold chainer.:laugh:
There is nothing wrong with taking advantage of the skills of someone else. We're all good at something. I've long ago learned that if it counts, it's always better to pay someone else to do what I am not good at doing. Or accept the risks of doing it myself.

A used $150 alky engine "could" end up being an albatross and at a minimum requires disassembly and inspection. A gas 130202 flattie not so much. If it runs, it's good.

used $150 alky engine "could" end up being an albatross and at a minimum requires disassembly and inspection.
Dave is right on and truer words were never written. These engines are used (racing) and abused (very high rpms). These race engines are regularly rebored and oversize piston/ring sets installed as they wear out from racing. Take you time and go through it completely and check piston to bore clearance, rod journal clearance at crankshaft, etc.
Michael