SEMI-NOOB needs help with a DoodleBug!

HEY ALL! My first post on here! Long story short, ive always wanted a minibike, and when i found a little green doodlebug for sale nearby with an electric scooter for $140, i jumped on it! Im out in the Poconos working in camp currently too. Normally in NYC where i live, these things are uncommon and uber expensive. I have lots of experience working in 2 stroke mopeds, ive rebuilt many Puchs and Tomos, and a few Hondas as well, so i was cpnfident i could get it running right or at least fix any minor issues i encounter. When i got it, it ran, but the centrifugal clutch was toasted, and the chain had no master link. Rear tire was bald too. I got a new rear tire, an $18 Amazon clutch, and chain, and got it back together and cleaned! Brake rotor was bent so i trued it, but the caliper seems like its toast (missing parts, etc...I ordered a $12 ebay caliper marketed for the Baja 97cc, are these any good?)

It ran seemingly fine for a bit on my first few rides, but it then became hard to start, and would not run for more than 10 seconds, and would have no power. I took off the carb and cleaned it with my bunkmates' toothbrush and picks. Added some fresh gas, and now its starts first pull every time, and has power. But, its idling way too high, to the point where the clutch is fully engaged, and i cannot slow it down no matter what i try.

I will be getting a predator 212 and clutch for free from a buddy, and will do the swap, but not for a little while.

Help me please? Ill get some pics posted up momentarily.
Thanks in advance!

Last edited: