Should this chain be tight or loose? This is my first build on small engine. I have excess just laying on top for pic. Am I running it right? Thx

jspbtown

Thats way too lose. Do you have slots to slide the motor or are you supposed to have a tensioner? And what is that on your clutch? And it looks like your engine is crooked

I74

That's ''scary'' loose, & an accident waiting to happen !! :eek:

Also,,
is there any teeth left on that back sprocket, or are the teeth just covered in black grease ??.. Can't really tell for sure in the pic.

Lastly,,
Don't think you need that big of back sprocket with the 212,, you are just going to potentially flip yourself over backwards.

What's the tooth count on the clutch & back sprocket ??

Last edited:

SAS289

In the picture the engine isn't bolted down. It looks like he has the chain on there just to get the idea of what position to bolt down the engine.

Looks like that will end up needing a chain roller to clear whatever that bar underneath is. Even with a smaller sprocket.

That's ''scary'' loose, & an accident waiting to happen !! :eek:

Also,,
is there any teeth left on that back sprocket, or are the teeth just covered in black grease ??.. Can't really tell for sure in the pic.

Lastly,,
Don't think you need that big of back sprocket with the 212,, you are just going to potentially flip yourself over backwards.

What's the tooth count on the clutch & back sprocket ??
The count is 53 or 54

Thank you, I’m new to small engines. I’m a computer guy lol
Welcome...and no worries...most the pros didn't even notice it..lol. Your chain should have about a 1/2 of deflection. Meaning you can move it up and down about a half inch basically. That is generally perfect tightness for a chain. And the biggest part is to make sure it is to make sure the sprockets line up straight. Meaning the chain needs to be straight as possible.

I74

The count is 53 or 54