bought my first minibike engine, new to this and i just joined

bought the predator 212 and thinking about buying azusa minibike kit. good kit? or should i buy something else? i am a heavy equipment/diesel mechanic and a certified pipe welder as well. (just thought i would put that out there)

Welcome to the OldMiniBikes ...yea a 212 and a Azusa, could be a good start. You might find a older bike on here or your local craigslist...just saying !

Go with the scrub brake for the Azusa and buy a non Azusa sprocket for the Azusa wheels like the bolt on sprocket ones on ebay, Azusa sprockets suck and adding brakes only makes it worse. A guy here now passed away once turned them true for the cost of shipping, I suppose you could take one to a machinist and get it done so you can start with a good true one or you will cuss it forever. Also get a clutch brake for primary stopping and only use the scrub brake in case the chain breaks or you have an oh shit moment and need both. For the money an Azusa frame is tough to beat, a used roller is a good option but watch for breaks and re-welds as well as rust along the bottom tubes before committing to a purchase. I've bought them for $50 too but it's not as common at least in my region and generally they need everything.

CarPlayLB

Welcome aboard!
I have a roller that needs a new home with a welder! I am in Long Beach, so not far away! Send me a PM and we can exchange info

can someone explain the difference in frames between cat, taco, doodlebug etc.? why are some more desirable?
Because some of us had these as kids in the 60's and 70's. Nostalgia. For "us," these nostalgic "vintage" bikes are worth more due to sentimental value. Those who did not have this experience still realize the value in them, and restore them, or otherwise treat them accordingly.