lawn mower gx390, needs more power

First off I apologize if I sound really stupid, i'm new to all this, and this may not be the proper place as it's not a minibike but looks like some of you have experience with the 390.

What I have is a stand up rider mower that had a 14hp k series kohler engine, this thing is pretty old but has always worked good and is handy as heck for some residential lawns we mow. It worked well until recently the butterfly fell apart in the carb and it reved to it's demise.

Anyway I have a gx390 on it now great engine, runs smooth but it would be really nice if it had just a few more horses for thick grass. I removed the spark arrestor in the muffler right away as I've never had any luck with em anyway; so here I sit on a $900 motor I wish had more.

The thing is it's operated by my employees so it has to remain dead reliable, start easily (has electric start) be quiet yet, remain at normal governed speed, run on regular gas, and last as long as possible.

I've read about advancing the timing with a special key, is it possible to expect any gains by doing that while everything else remains stock? Any other tips or tricks to squeeze a little extra out of it? I really appreciate any help or advise.

MB165

Since your running at 3600rpm, I dont recommend advancing the timinig, your not going to get more power doing it. Plus, its gonna run really hot especially in thick grass. Start by trying to get rid of the airbox and install a K&N type filter. If the deck is capped off for mulching try opening it up. On this application, theres not much you can do.
Pete

bore the carb and rejet,advance the timing 4 deg. and mill the head. You can also get a low end cam. But really you need a bigger motor for longevity and more power.
Look at how the do it for the boats and water cannons.

bore the carb and rejet,advance the timing 4 deg. and mill the head. You can also get a low end cam. But really you need a bigger motor for longevity and more power.