Lifan, Harbor Freight Greyhound, Northern Iron Horse, Jiangdong, etc.

RobK

I'm new to the whole clone thing. I understand the Chinese basically stole Honda's design for the 5.5 and 6.5 engines. I think Honda has even tried to sue, though unsuccessfully. I also see that both engines are sold under at least a half dozen names. Lifan, Greyhound from Harbor Freight, “Iron Horse” from Northern, Jiangdong, Champion, etc. Are these different “brands” all the same? Are they all from one manufacturer or different? Are all the parts interchangeable among the various clones and Hondas? It sounds like they are. I’m curious. I just bought a Mini Baja with the Jiangdong 5.5 that’s not running. It’ll fire on starting fluid, so I’m pretty sure the carb needs a good cleaning. I’m also thinking of building a Serengeti Puma kit with my son and will likely put a clone on it. So, are they all the same?

You will usually find somewhere one them a Lifan sticker. A couple of the names you listed I have not run across. It maybe regional were they sell them at. We get a lot of the Greyhounds around here.I have a few of them and had no problems with them.

joekd

My first clone was a Jiangdong and as mentioned above when I was tearing into it one day I found a Lifan name so my guess is they are the primary mfg with many suppliers

RobK

I think you're right about Lifan. I suspect they make many of the clones. I have figure something out though. The Northern Tool "Iron Horse" engines are not Honda clones. The Iron Horse is 208cc, and I don't think Honda makes a 208cc engine to copy. It's made by a company called Liquid Combustion Technologies (LCT). It's a Chinese company that appears to have aggressively gone after the snowblower market that Tecumseh abandoned. They're marketed as "Stormforce" or Maxx engines. I don't know who's design they're based on, but I'm guessing the parts don't interchange with the 163cc or 196cc Honda Clones.