Newbie needing help with go kart

Hey all, found your site from another site I frequent. I could use some help trying to get my son's go kart running/driving. I've never worked on go karts before, or other small engine things, so this is new to me. I've got some basic auto skills, but nothing advanced (I'm learning).

Sorry I don't have pictures, but I can take some tonight. The kart is a single seater yard kart with a 5hp engine. Looks very much like the one in this picture, though this isn't my exact kart.
I bought it a few months back. My son was taking it for a test ride after I had put front tires on it. He was going through the grass when I suddenly heard a metallic pop sound. The kart engine was still running, but it wasn't moving. I shut it off immediately. It's a chain drive with a centrifugal clutch. I saw immediately that the chain had come off the sprockets. Upon pushing it into the garage, I noticed that the drum that covers the pads on the clutch now just slides off and on. I'm assuming whatever was holding that drum onto the assembly broke, but I'm not sure what it was. I see there are snap rings on other areas of the clutch, so could it have been a snap ring holding the drum on? Sorry if it's a dumb question, but I'm totally new at this. It's obvious to me that the drum needs to be mounted, but I'm just not sure what was there (I looked in the grass but didn't find anything).

Welcome to OldMiniBikes, some one will be along shortly with the answer, but I think you're right there is a snap ring you remove to oil the bushing

buckeye

I think you are correct. How old is the clutch??

If it's older than dirt, might want to throw down 29 bucks for a new one.

Thanks for the quick response. I'd guestimate the clutch to be younger than dirt, but older than a dinosaur. So yeah, I'll just swap it out. But I am curious, where did the snap ring attach to hold the drum to the assembly?