Predator 212 just over stock build

I'm new to this section so if I'm not doing it right, let me know. Hent, I read the sticky.
I thought it might be fun to build a mini bike, as a hobby. I was right. Here are some results from the last three weeks of my efforts. I could talk in-depth about any of it, if you have questions. Also, this video was intended to be watched, "not read". The notes are there to answer the obvious questions.
Please let me know what you think...

www.youtube.com/watch?v=lv3mii5IBvg

Photo's of the Motovox refurb I bought for $224.99 that this engine will go on. I need to mount the seat and move the rear fender down about 1" for muffler clearance, (just over the tire) so it'll look like a hard tail chopper fender.

Last edited:
Nice job, rear fender looks good

I'm convinced, lowering the fender is the right thing to do. I just don't want to cut and weld anything, keeping it stock. I'll add some adapter brackets to lower the fender and mount the seat. Other than that, I don't see a problem with exhaust clearance or motor mount issues.:thumbsup:

I didn't tap mine because I might want to put the low oil sensor back in someday and I rather have the hole the way it was so it seals right. But, I was ready too. I have the set screw and the tap.
Did you say that was a stock rod running at 6300rpm's??? I've been told, right here that the predator 212 rod is the weak link in this engine...

Last edited:
Did you say that was a stock rod running at 6300rpm's??? I've been told, right here that the predator 212 rod is the weak link in this engine...
[/IMG]
That was the stock rod running 6950 rpm. the youtube video is darker than the original. It's runs at least 6600 for over 60 seconds until I run out of road.

For being a weak link I haven't seen a picture of one broken.

For being a weak link I haven't seen a picture of one broken.
Thanks a lot guys, it was easy. Things just kinda fell into place, including the video. Glad you liked it.