Tecumseh Motorsports Engine Question

I recently purchased what I 'thought' was a flathead Tecumseh Motorsports H50. I'm not an expert on these engines, as I've dealt mostly with Aspera/Tecumseh HT-25/35 and HS40 motors. If there are any Tec. Motorsports 'experts' on here, please let me know if the following is a TM H50 motor OR if the parts that came with it, would be the 'equivalent' to a Tec. Motorsports engine. Thanks...Fyi, I was told it would not come with the blue TM shroud, and the fuel pump/pumper carb. I just want to know if I got my $$ worth. I appreciate it. (I posted in the general discussion to get more views because info. on these engines is hard to come by). :thumbsup:

Carb #632794K and the engine is 'supposed' to be an H50 SBH-9994 (bought from Bad Dog)

IMG_4099.JPG IMG_4101.JPG IMG_4104.JPG IMG_4107.JPG IMG_4108.JPG IMG_4109.JPG

Last edited:
That is a early one. The later ones were blue and had tillotson carbs one was gas and the other was alky and fuel pump. Does yours have the stainless valves and aluminum retainers?

I appreciate the info...So this is the real deal? I'm only asking because I thought these engines came pre-assembled...So I guess I'm wondering if this is just a 'stock' NOS H50 with some Motorsports parts (cam, rod, carb etc)...? Any info. you can provide would be greatly appreciated. It's supposed to have a ball bearing crankshaft and high performance valve train etc...I haven't opened it up know what's really inside. I'd like to get 9-12hp from it...

Lastly, is there a big advantage to having a pumper carb/fuel pump...and if I choose to go the Tillotson route, what model carb would be best? Thanks...

CarPlayLB

And the mystery continues lol
Haha...no mystery here! The engines typically came with the piston in the bore with no connecting rod. The cam was installed as well as lifters and springs/valves. The carb and intake were never bolted to the motor. I can imagine this was done to skirt any warranty issues and liability.