Tillotson tuning troubles

Well finally got the carb on the motor and running but not exactly right. It seems to pull away from a standstill fine but as you get up in the rpm's it starts popping and cracking(sounds like an old machine gun) then all of the sudden it takes off and goes like a bat outta hell. Now I'm a newb to the Tilly world and still not sure where to go with it. I tried messing with it a bit but only seemed to get worse the more I did.

Its sounds like your getting a lean intermediate miss , or a fouled plug have you cked the plug , how I rough adjust a 334 is i start out with the low side about 1 1/2 turns out and the high side about one turn , I start the engine turn the low side in until the engine stumbles a little then bring it out till it evens out and then give it an extra quarter turn , then i go to the high side hold the rpm up to 2500-3000 turn the high side in till i get it to stumble and bring out till it evens out , let it go back to idle and see how it reacts , sometimes after balancing the high and the low You have to touch up the low side a little , and if the carb has a high pop off pressure of 15 or higher it will be a harder to adjust . If you get a chance pop on to EC carbs website go under important links and then go into technical info there are some good downloads on there how to set up Tillys hope it helps !

minidragbike

Supporting Speed Nut!
There the simplest carb to tune.
You turn and go, it's that simple.
Maybe your pulse hole behind the carb is block?
Are you running a fuel pump?