1976 Indian M5A - My first restore/rebuild, and hell of a story!

Edit: I should add, I hope you all like being overloaded with pictures, hahaha!

So here's the backstory if you want to read it, and it's a pretty good one.

Long version:

I'm a volunteer firefighter and I was working one night at the station. My Captain stopped by just to say hi and see what we were up to. Since I am a motorcycle enthusiast myself, I had turned the tv on and "World's Fastest Indian" was on one of the movie channels. I briefly told my Captain what it was about, and he thought it sounded good and had a seat to watch it with us.

It didn't really click until Burt said something in the movie about his Indian. My Captain realized and muttered out an, "Oooohhh, an Indian! I've got one of those in my garage." And this is the point where I said, "Excuse me? You have what?" He replied with, "Just a little one."

He then went on to tell me how it had been in his mothers garage for 20 years, then when she passed away, he brought it to his house where it had been for the past 12 years. His oldest son decided it looked in need of repai, so he took it apart about 5 years ago. And this is how it sat.

I jokingly said, "Well, let me know when you want to sell it." He told me to come over the next day.

I showed up and sure enough, he had an old Indian mini bike sitting in pieces in his garage. I had no idea what it was worth and neither did he. I asked him what he wanted for it, and he shrugged and said, "I don't know, make me an offer." I asked what he paid for it, and he told me he had mowed a lady's lawn 5 times and she gave it to him. I told him I pay my lawn guy $20 each time, so I'd give him $100 for it, hahaha! He laughed and said, "Sounds good. It's all yours!"

Short version:

I picked up this old rusty mini bike from some dude's garage for $100. :laugh: