anyone know anything about charging batteries?

So ive been running one of those dynamo/generator light setups on my weedeater bike for a couple months now and im getting tired of the fact that they dim and turn off at slow speeds and stopping. both lights are supposed to run off 6v. So I was thinking, I've got a 6v battery laying around that I could put on the bike and run the lights off that, and then set up the generator to charge the battery. The problem I see is that the generators voltage is relative to speed, at full speed its gotta be pushing 12v or more, and at lower speeds its probably just at 6v or less. I have no experience in charging systems so I don't really know where to start on that one. I figure there's gotta be more to it than plug it all in and go. :shrug:

Neck

Growing up is optional
The lighting coil puts out AC current, so for it to charge a battery you would have to put a rectifier in the circuit.

I'm kinda thinking he has a friction Dynamo/generator like we all had on are pedal bikes like the ones that run off the wheels. Those put out aprox. 6v DC current, not sure if it would be enough to keep his 6v battery charged ( u need at least 7v to keep it charged), In that case I would give it a shot, even to try it without a voltage regulator. But he would have to measure the output of the dynamo first before trying.... hey but I could be way off base of what he actually has :shrug:

Neck

Growing up is optional
I honestly don't know how those Dynamos are wound. Hooking one up to a battery may let the smoke out!:shrug:

The lighting coil puts out AC current, so for it to charge a battery you would have to put a rectifier in the circuit.
Yes ...preferrably a "Full-Wave" rectifier for optimum charging capacity...

(I don't know what that means but I read it somewhere and it makes me sound just a little smarter than Neck....:biggrin:)

delray