briggs

where can i get a 70's style 5 hp + briggs and stratton either new or restored for a 70's dunecycle i am restoring back to original.
i am a newbie to all this mini bike stuff so please bear with me
thank you

jeep4me

I'm not sure you can buy a "new" 70's style briggs but the originals are everywhere. If you're restoring the bike yourself then you shouldn't have a hard time restoring the engine. I find alot of engines on craigslist classifieds: jobs, housing, personals, for sale, services, community, events, forums . Look under your areas listings or post a wanted ad for the engine. If you don't know how to tell the year the engine was manufactured, find the "code" # on the motor and the first two digits are the year, 2nd two are the month and third two are the day.

I'm not sure you can buy a "new" 70's style briggs but the originals are everywhere. If you're restoring the bike yourself then you shouldn't have a hard time restoring the engine. I find alot of engines on craigslist classifieds: jobs, housing, personals, for sale, services, community, events, forums . Look under your areas listings or post a wanted ad for the engine. If you don't know how to tell the year the engine was manufactured, find the "code" # on the motor and the first two digits are the year, 2nd two are the month and third two are the day.
thank you ,i just posted an ad in my city . will craigs list do a search on a whole state or region or do you have to go by city

Jeep4me is right, you shouldn't have any trouble finding one on craigslist.

If by "70's Style" you mean the typical Briggs 5 horse with the pulsa-jet carb on top of the tank, then you could use one from the 60's, 70's, 80's or early 90's. They all look the same and ARE the same in many respects.

The Briggs 5 horse is the Small Block Chevy of small engines. They're everywhere and parts are cheap!

Good luck!

Jeep4me is right, you shouldn't have any trouble finding one on craigslist.