help a newcommer out

i have a old tecumseh ill post pics sometime and it dosent start where should I start I am totally new to the mini bike thing and need some help

You should always make sure there is plenty of oil in the motor before ya do anything.. But I would pull the spark plug out and plug the wire back into it and set it on top of the motor and check and see if it has spark. You want to make sure the bottom nut part of the spark plug is touching a metal on the motor and that the spark plug wire end isn't.. But give it a few good pulls and make sure it is shooting a spark. If it has no spark that is your first problem.

You should always make sure there is plenty of oil in the motor before ya do anything.. But I would pull the spark plug out and plug the wire back into it and set it on top of the motor and check and see if it has spark. You want to make sure the bottom nut part of the spark plug is touching a metal on the motor and that the spark plug wire end isn't.. But give it a few good pulls and make sure it is shooting a spark. If it has no spark that is your first problem.
Thats not how I was taught how to check for spark!! :eek:

lol... you can unplug the wire and try to hold it just about the right distance from the plug and try and shoot a arc from the wire to plug but thats pretty complicated, you can grab the wire and give it yank.. that hurts like a bitch.. a spark plug is the easiest quickest way to not electrocute yourself tough... :lol:

What tecumseh do you have? Post a pic. Since you have spark, we'll help on the next steps including having the correct plug and fuel delivery.

Hey I can't find my camera so I took a video of it with my droid and uploaded to youtube under my username foxriderrainer and tell me how the the quality was

Hey I can't find my camera so I took a video of it with my droid and uploaded to youtube under my username foxriderrainer and tell me how the the quality was