01 Oval Kart clean up

I am working on a 2001 oval kart that I have plans of racing upon the arrival of the next oval track race season. I have never raced oval but it looks like a blast. My plans are to run a predator 212 Hemi with a RTC-8 head. Below are pictures of my starting point. I have replaced every bearing on the kart so far, spindle bearings, rear axle bearings, and tie rods. I am refreshing everything I can. It will be like my mini bike for a while, all ratty as its too cold to sandblast right now and I would like to run it a bit and not worry about scratches and what not. The kart is a 2001 Legend Vision kart. It is not like the newer karts that have heim joints for camber/caster adjustment. The only adjustment is the up/down of the wheel height, or so I think. Anyways, plan on having some fun with it no matter what. If you have any tips/suggestions please share as I am new to the whole kart setup task. The pictures look like the kart is pink, but its filthy, and it is actually the color of my compressor in the background. I will pressure wash it next warm day.

Last edited:
Hmmm where to start lol.

First thing you need to do is find your local tracks and look on their websites and get ahold of the track owners. Get a list of classes and their rules.
Generally speaking your only going to find 2 predator classes
1) SPG rules which allow some modification but they are pretty limited
2) Out of the box stock predator. Only thing you can do is vent the tank and adjust governor to 5500rpm max. Governor still has to be in tact.

The other very important thing is weight. Your going to have to scale the kart and add weight to meet minimum weight requirements to race at the track. This varies from track to track but expect anywhere between 350lbs and 390lbs predator classes.

Tires, tires, tires, tires, tires.