90A HF flux core welder for 89 dollars

Off to vissit the USA is a week and I have a coupon for this welder.

Looks to be the same Chinee clone that Tool town and PA sell here double the money.

Anyone have any second thoughts on this unit?

Anyone mod this welder?
I am not a welder, I'm an electrician so its contrary to my nature to cause arcs with electricity. But I am not adverse to doing things to improve the performance of the welder. I hear you can add a Rectifier to these and some caps to improve it. Not sure I understand the advantage of running dc or some of the other tricks like different wire sizes.

Been a vert long time since I did any welding.
Thats what welders at work were always for, but times changed and now there are no more guys around to stick things together for me...

well looking around on youtube there is a few reviews on them . there cheap little spark makers , ya wont weld a bridge way in one shot but ya can stick things together . there is no cooling fan in these little welders so they can hit the thermal overload if you push them hard . they are not good for lots of welding time in one run . some are like 2-3 min in 10 do to the no cooling fan ,adding a fan can help .

on the Rectifier and caps . well running the rectifier for dc lets you do dc strait and reversed .i dont remember it all but its basically more heat in the rod(fast fill shallow ) or the work ( deep penetration slower fill ) depending on how its setup

wire size brings 2 things ones is how much metal you can throw in one shot and how hot you can get the weld . like a big wire it can carry lots of amps before it blows ,making lots of heat where a litlle one not so much .

Big Jim

I bought one last week. I have been a welder.