My Cat 400EL Eliminator

Well I'm a little new to the minibike scene but I've worked with other things that run on small engines (i.e. generators, lawn mowers, lawn tractors) and thought this would be cool to get going again to have something fun to mess around on until I decide to ride a motorcycle. Of course I'm only 19 and still don't have my license yet, so it'd be suicidal to hop on a motorcycle at this point. lol

I had to do some research at first to find out which bike this was, and eventually I figured it was a cat. The only one that looked most like this was the eliminator since it had both front and rear suspension and had a seat with a sissy bar on it with the gold sides.

Here's a couple pics of it. It's kind of gotten past this point, but I'll explain it later.

Here's the engine available to me to use:

Here's the story of this thing:
My dad said that he got it from a customer when he worked for Gill Bros. as an HVAC tech. sometime when I was maybe 3 or 4 years old, back in the mid-90s. He put on an old '54ish Briggs 6S (which I've never seen run on that thing) and eventually it sat for another 4-5 years in the back yard. Later on my dad found another engine for it, a little newer. It was a 70s(?) 3hp briggs engine, and I've actually seen it run with that engine on it, but I don't remember it ever going fast. Eventually it sat for almost another decade until my half-brother decided to take it and put on this harbor freight engine. Of course with his lack of engineering skills he bolted it to a piece of plywood then just wedged some carriage bolts through it from the bottom of the mount plate because the base of the engine was too small. He then proceeded to spray paint "chrome" on the handlebars and shocks, and then tore up the seat and brake caliper, along with a ton of other stuff.