on "Removing governor ... Please read" sticky

OK, so I'm new to the mini bike scene, and at modifying Predator engines. Been reading in here a lot about the importance of either not modifying your engine by removing your governor, or replacing the rod and flywheel if you plan to do so. Just can't find a dedicated thread of instructions.

I plan to use the ARC throttle plate because I had to remove the fuel tank, air filter and muffler to get the engine to fit in my frame. I have purchased the Top plate, Predator mini bike kit, and Billet Flywheel. I just need some instruction for the install.

I found the sticky for the carb clean/jetting install, and the girl at OldMiniBikes sent me a video for the top plate install (Thanks Vicky!), but said I should check here for further help. I'm no mechanic, but I can follow step-by-step directions fairly well :helpsmilie:.

-Is there a sticky or instructions somewhere for the Flywheel removal and install

-do I have to use a fuel pump with the top plate? Does the stock configuration even have a fuel pump - maybe buried in the tank?

-any other good source for written or video how to's?

Thanks for any help, JB

I don't know about a sticky. I would bet YouTube would have something. You might check affordablegokarts.com. This might help.

Piston and Rod
AGK - Billet rod & flat top piston installation - Affordable Go Karts

Gov Removal
AGK - HONDA GX160 & GX200 Governor Removal - Affordable Go Karts

Fuel Pump (You don't HAVE to have this, but it helps.
AGK - Fuel Pump Setup - Affordable Go Karts

There are torque values there as well, but I didn't really follow them. The flywheel is a pain to get off, but I wasn't using any fancy pulling tool. I just use a pry bar and rubber mallot. I've gotten two off that way. Just take it off and put the new one on. There is a key that will have to be lined up.