Opinion Please

Ok, I'm not an auto mechanic but know enough to do some easy modifications. I currently have a gx390 in my mini bike and plan on doing the following mods to it......

-snake pipe

-K&N air filter

-removal of governor (heard this can greatly damage the engine over time???)

-still deciding between comet torque or redhawk

-mikuni carb (suggestion of size?)

-removal of choke(how does this help performance?)

Ya thats pretty much all....... Please leave suggestions on any other easy mods that will increase engine performance but won't kill it or anything that will help prolong life of the engine. Or any mod that you think is a must-do mod. Also if you find that any of my mods I plan on doing require another mod to work to the fullest/best, that I've not listed, please comment. Thanks for all your guys help!!!

mnibike

den35

I,personally,would not remove the governor.Only tweak it's linkages a bit to give you more rpm,but still stop the engine from reving into oblivion.

Removing the choke seems pointless to me.It doesn't affect anything till you close it.

Otherwise,everything else you're thinking of will do well.

no matter what you do it would be a wise choice to put in a billet pistonrod that is the weakest link even in the real honda motors with a billet rod you can remove the gov. and not worry as much !!! if you leave the gov. in why bother doing anything else. when you go to AGK you see it is a wise choice to replace the rod it will prolong the life of your motor no matter what you do to it !!

yea definitely get a billet rod if you take the governor out.

if you don't remove your governor, the header, air filter would be good upgrades. you could try a larger jet for the carb, vent the breather, and play with your gearing to, cause getting more speed out of that engine shouldn't be an issue at all with proper gearing.