Opinions on Predator Hemi Build

Whats up OldMiniBikes, just got into go-karts thanks to one of my buddies and the speed urge has hit. i currently have a predator hemi 6.5 on my kart and wanted to bump up the power to gain top speed which is rpm bases some what and gain some more punch or power. Currently only has the governor removed, OldMiniBikes "stage 2 kit", and an arc billet flywheel. I need some advice/opinions on the rest of the build. I want to run the black mamba cam with 26 lb springs, mill the head and run a billet rod. this is where it gets iffy because i can deck it a bunch and run alky/meth or deck it less and run pump gas, and I need to take off the head to take pop out measurements to make sure i dont run any valve to piston issues. im new to this whole small engine game and could use some advice. Thanks again

Alky should give you about a 1hp gain over gas, but I won't use it. I don't race, so buying it becomes a bit of an inconvenience. If you go alky, you're gonna want a better carb and exhaust. Warning: Speed addiction is expensive. What are your plans for the kart? Are you racing? Just racing with your buddy? Just cruising the neighborhood?
Are you going to br milling the head, or will you pay to have it done? What size valves do you have? The 26lb springs may be kinda hard on the stock valve train, but will definitely help keep you from floating your valves.

We honestly just ride around on back roads, but we are planning on running in a small dirt track into a friends property for all of us to race on. I have a friend that as machine shop that will be milling the head for me, and it has the stock valve train.

Mill the head, add better valve springs aftermarket Carburetor and Black Mamba Jr. cam (or some comparable Kart racing cam). I f you have the time and tools a little bit of power may be found in porting the head and matching exhaust.

Last edited: