The Heald Supertryke STX-16 restoration thread

I just bought another Heald Supertryke a few weeks ago and thought I would start a thread to document restoration. Attached are pictures of how I got it and where it is currently.

Info:
Heald Supertryke - Serial 564 (1983 -1984)
16 HP Briggs Twin
Gearbox

The bench seat was added, but I got the original bucket with it. The previous owner installed new handlebars, which is why they are too long for a bucket seat tryke. These will be cut down. The sprockets have been changed and the frame was cut to make the fit (roughly). This resulted in the rear frame cracking in the middle. It is currently getting repaired by a local welding shop. Unfortunately, I didn't get good pictures of the before. I got a package from Ron Kimball today with a few items that I need. More to come!

Last edited:
I'm confused on whether this was an original bench or bucket seat. I got a bucket seat with it, but there were no footpeg brackets on the fork. Ron has sent me some. The only other difference I see is in the shifter lever. On my other all original STX with a bucket seat, the shifter handle faces the fender. On this tryke, it faces the seat. So, either the front fork was replaced or someone found a bucket for it.

Which was it? :confused:

Not sure bud with that kind I have seen them with bench seats like the ones from golf carts. but most i have seen had dump beds on it. I have an alsport. and it had a big fiber glass ferring when they came out. mine dont have it on it witch is fine I think I like it better without it. some one tried to trade me one like yours a while back ill see if i still have picks of it and see what seat it had on it