Bringing A Raptor Back Online

I've got a little diversionary project I'm doing that I plan on using this Briggs Raptor for it. It will be repainted.

I got this engine back in 2009 but I don't really know that much about it other than it is a Raptor. And it runs! I got a couple questions on it, first is that a stock carb or something else? I take it those screws on it are for setting air/fuel mixture, and it must not have been set right because I remember it smelled heavy gas smell (too rich, same as when I popped a .42 jet in a 212). At least I have some knowledge and experiences (from OldMiniBikes!) to even know that, cos I didn't know squat in '09.

(Don't edit yer pics here or they will turn out like below:confused:)

Next problem to solve is that ugly air filter. It won't fit the frame this way so it has to mount horizontally. It can't be higher than the spark plug to fit the frame. Hepp a bruthuh out??

bandit 40

If I remember right a 35mm angled or straight depending on how much room you have will fit over the carb flange with a hose clamp. Member Buckeye had one on his mini he would be a good person to contact or wait for his reply to this thread. It wont take long for him to see this good luck..Check out ebay..

Last edited:
The jet size sounds like a small methanol jet. I know on my race Raptors we run a .047 to .051 on alky. The carb may also be drilled for alky. There is a passage under the diaphragm that get drilled out. I just can't remember the name of it. Once it's drilled you cannot got back.

The jet size sounds like a small methanol jet. I know on my race Raptors we run a .047 to .051 on alky. The carb may also be drilled for alky. There is a passage under the diaphragm that get drilled out. I just can't remember the name of it. Once it's drilled you cannot got back.
cat eyes