Compression release problem

I have a black mamba cam and newly installed in my honda 160 . When i got it i noticed that the release was different than the one on the stock honda cam , so i figured that it was a clone core that was used . But i seem to have a problem of it not completely turning itself off or slightly hanging up . When its hot and I tried to restart the motor finally started but barely ran like the release was not fully off , after a minute or so it kicked off and ran find . Anyone know how i can fix this problem ?

Well might as well respond to my own thread . After searching on here and bob4cycle , mainly bob's . I have found that most set lash to .005 maybe a hair more on the exhaust side because of the comp release . I think i will try it .

I set lash as close to zero as posible, with the engine cold. (lash grows when it heats up) I havent had any problems with a comp release and have had different types as well. If you rev it up a little when you fire it does it release then?

rmm727

Well might as well respond to my own thread . After searching on here and bob4cycle , mainly bob's . I have found that most set lash to .005 maybe a hair more on the exhaust side because of the comp release . I think i will try it .
I believe if you set the lash to much on the exhaust valve you will disable the compression release. Agreee with youngengines that most set as close to zero lash as possible. Think the spec is .002 intake, .003 exhaust.

I set lash as close to zero as posible, with the engine cold. (lash grows when it heats up) I havent had any problems with a comp release and have had different types as well. If you rev it up a little when you fire it does it release then?