I am new to the sport and this forum, can you help me along please?

I am a long time muscle car restoration guy having restored my 1970 and 1966Chevells however, I am new to the minibike and go kart scene. I was so impressed by this forum and those that have posted here I elected to become a paid supporter.

I have a 9 and 10 year old grandson that I am trying to turn into gear heads by helping them with a project. I picked up a used DB-50 minibike and a Yearf Dog 2300 Go Kart, both of which needed a new engine.

After some research on this site I purchased two Harbor Freight Predator 212cc (6.5 hp) engines. In stead of just bolting on the engines and leaving it at that, I want to get each of them into the guts of the engine so I can teach them how an internal combustion 4 stoke engine works and how each engine effects performance. I remember starting out that way some 45 years ago when I took a small engine repair class in the 9th grade where we disassembled and reassembled a 4 stroke lawn mower engine.

I have read a number of posts on the forum discussing Honda clones, Predator 212s and specific Honda engines. However, as I surf the various vendors for performance parts/upgrades, some of the sites specify the parts are for Predator 212s while others indicate their parts are for Honda clones.

I am hoping someone can tell me which specific Honda engine the Predator 212 is suppose to clone? This would allow me to ensure I make the correct selection of upgrade parts, mild to wild, as we build up their engines.

Thanks in advance guys, think I may have found a new hobby.

Last edited: