Lets talk Shocks

I am looking for information on Minibike/Motorcycle rear shocks.

On a car/truck there are good amounts of angle and bad or excessive amounts of angle. Automotive I have all the real world information I need or want. But I have ZERO real world experience with what is used on a mini bike/motorcycle. I have never owned or even ridden a street bike. Owned 1 Honda XR600 dirt bike. It was worn out and I probably rode it 500 feet and sold it to my BIL. Him being an old motocross racer rebuilt it and promptly broke his ankle when it kicked back the 3rd or 4th time he started it.

I ask this question>>>>> What is to much angle and what is considered the best angle range (between X and X) for proper function.

I see custom bikes with the shocks straight up. I know this is not an issue as it allows the shock and spring to work at the full rated function. The more you add angle the more that number changes. I have seen few custom street bikes with the shocks laid down at least to 45 degrees or maybe a little lower. That much angle changes the function drastically.

I would think that there are some folks on here that have enough real world experience with Motorcycles to have a very educated answer for this. I know all of it is "rule of thumb" but there are also pretty hard numbers that are the preferred range I would think.

I even saw a drawing of a swingarm and the shock was laid down and served as the top link of the swing arm. It must have been laid down to 30 degrees forming a cute triangle. It looked good and looked simple BUT does it really work that way???

Thanks to everyone that contributes to this as I think it will be good information to share.

Doug

..if shock is mounted straight vertical then when compresses it will lean back some due to chain..I'd say a little in on top best..how much depends on shock length of compression....seem logical