lookin to buy this engine

here is what he says about the engine & im wondering if it would be worth getting this... is it ez to get these running good when there doing this or should i just buy the carb, recoil, engine cover, flywheel & have him scrap the rest? i did search about this but came up with nothing?

This is an old Tecumseh snowblower motor from a blower that I have decided to part out rather than fix. The shft size is 1" by 2.75". Prior to selling the newer gas tank which I purchased for this motor, the motor started but did not run well (sputtered under load and would run unevenly). It has very good compression. I'm guessing it is probably a carburetor issue but I am not a mechanic. Everything on the motor is intact, the head gasket seems fine and the seal on the shaft does not leak oil.

the 1" is a doozie. a 1" clutch will set you back about 100 dollars. You really want to stick with engines with a 3/4 shaft as they are more of the 'industry standard' when it comes to mini bikes and go karts.

thanks guys i wonder what the (sputtered under load and would run unevenly). is this a real prob to work out or is it really a carb issue? i'll probly be putting the engine on a trike i guess i should have mentioned that sorry

delray

are talking about the one over in wausau,wi
Tecumseh Snowblower Motor $30 bucks or maybe even less/offer $20 maybe he will go half $25.
(sputtered under load and would run unevenly) kind of sounds like a carb problem or maybe a spark problem too. just hard to say with out hearing it run in person. that kind of a road trip for you>MN to wausau,wi. still might be worth the road trip.:shrug:

:eek:hmy: HOLY CRAP thats a steel on that motor.. :doah: 1 inch is kinda a bitch but if ya have a jack shaft or are planning on running a TAV unit it's no biggie... OR you could swap it out...