Manco steering (headset) bushing source?

Hello gents (and ladies?) -- newbie here. I just picked up my first mini bike (a Manco with 3.5 horse Tecumseh), and had a quick question. I need to sort a couple of things out, one of which is slop in the headset. A quick search did not answer my question (that I could see), so I turn to you fine folks!

I assume there is a bushing in the headset that can be replaced. Can anyone tell me whether it's a standard bushing that I ought to be able to pick up at Ace, True Value, Home Depot, etc...? If not, is there a mail order source?

This little thing looks like it'll be a hoot to ride. I rode one several times as a kif up in WI, during the summer. LOVED IT! Can't wait to get this one rideable. It needs a chain (sources?) and a rear tube, and I'd like to get the steering slop rectified. Should ride otherwise!

Thanks in advance!

welcome to OldMiniBikes
if you click on the red bar at the top of the page , where is says log out new posts ... click on the OldMiniBikes.com then go to the tubes , and there is chain there too .
i know there was a thread on them bushings but i cant remember what one it was . maybe mac has some of them ?

zeeman

I tried my Ace, but no luck. My Manco Thunderbird has plastic bushings. You could just pop it out and take it around to several hardware stores. Most have bushings in metal drawers. Good luck. Welcome.