Briggs Porting Help

C9H13NO3

I have just started "cleaning up" the ports on my 5hp, and I am also going to shave the eyebrows. I have lots of pics of what I did besides the ones that I will post in this thread. I would like to know:

Where should I cut the eyebrows back to?
Do I remove this metal? (what I am pointing to)

How far should I cut back to on the exhaust? Does what I am pointing at look good?

How about the intake?

I have only smoothed out the rough casting and rounded all sharp turns. I also opened the intake up a little bit. I polished the intake port with several different grits of sandpaper until it was at a medium shine. Should I leave the exhaust rough or should I smooth it out and polish it? I'll post more pics later.

Also, if you want to show me where to remove metal from, please reference a picture or go in paint and box what I should remove. I am new to porting on flatheads and they are nothing like clones:freakout:

I WANT INPUT!!!

Last edited:
i hear to clean up the right side of the ex port i feel the better flowing out of the exhaust the better so a mirror finish on it and leave the intake with a little ruff finish to help with atomization. the question as jesse said is what else is to be done? all the porting in the world wont help if the carb is chokeing it down. good luck and keep us posted

This is Jimmy glenn's word on porting. this is in the context of a stocker Briggs racing engine, but you can get some ideas. Also following is a picture of an eyebrow shave on a big valve briggs.

Porting of any motor takes careful thought and generally not a heavy hand. This is very true with the Briggs motor in the stock classes. BIGGER is not better, flat out. What you are always looking for with porting is improved AIR FLOW. Big ports do not mean better air flow.