Harbor Freight Predator 212cc Quetions (Quad Project)

I am very new to these engines & has been about 2 years since I have bothered to mess around with small horizontal engines. Although I have not gone complete engine retard, I have stumbled upon some issues that I think may cause issues and just want some things clarified.

Summary:
I'm "re-building" a chinese quad that after many years has failed multiple times and thought screw it, this engine at HF is $99 and 212cc 6.5hp... Let's get it...

My Problems:
  1. I am going to re-use the gas tank installed in the atv that is going to be above the engine. It worries me though because the gas tank on the predator has a line going to the top of the tank and I do not know what it's for. I'm not sure if there is a fuel pump assembly involved or what but I want to get that solved... Would I be able to just connect the gas line from my old gas tank to the carb and leave it at that?

The Strange Line I'm Talking About...

What are these lines doing?

The Gas Line

2. I am also worried that if I place an air filter kit/adapter on that I would have to do something to the carburetor?
    Something such as this: Air filter Adapter, Aluminum, Clone
    I heard about re-jetting the carburetor, how would I go about doing that?

I am so sorry for being the new guy on the forums asking newby questions, but I don't want to go and screw myself over with a brand new engine (if you can understand).

old-timer

Scamming Member
Yes you can just run the line from your existing tank to the carb on the Predator. That line your referring to on the tank is a vent line to vent the predator gas tank.

If your going with a high volume air filter kit you will more than likely need to re-jet the carb. You can buy the jets from OldMiniBikes Warehouse or many other on line sales. Very easy to change :thumbsup: There are threads in the clone engine section here.Honda / Clone / Predator Engines - OldMiniBikes.com Forum