I think its a Savage

Hi all, new forum member here and have been lurking for a few days now.

First post and I have some (many) questions.

I have a friend that needed some fabrication and welding done, that's what I do for a living and while we were talking at his shop I seen this nifty little mini bike setting there and asked him what his plans were with it.

He told me he bought it for his boys and they weren't interested in it at all, so I told him I had a mini bike when I was young and loved it and it just so happens my 8 & 11 year old asked me to build them one.

So I said, heck I'll trade you the work you need done for it, and he said lets load it up!

Well with that being said, I brought it home and started a research for parts and came to the conclusion that it is a Savage mini bike from the sixty's, the motor(in Pieces) is a West Bend 580 Super Bee, however it will need a new flywheel because it has a few fins broke off.

I not sure what model the bike is, so maybe someone could chime in.

My thoughts were to just put a motor in it, so I had this 6hp Koehler and put it in there but its just to big, so my thought are to rebuild the West Bend or drop a B&S 5 hp in it and let the boys ride it and restore it later.

Does anyone know what color the frame was from the factory?
I sure the seat was black but maybe red and faded to pink?

Thank you in advance for any information you might be able to share!

Yep that's a Savage....considered by many to be the "Holy Grail" of mini bikes (better not let your friend find out ). I was never a big fan of that luggage rack option but it's welded on so.....

never saw one painted green before...original color was red.