Jackshaft Swing arm relatinship

I am trying to figure out what is the best way to run a swing arm and the jackshaft in one mount. Along the way the Bonanza mounts work/look that OldMiniBikes sells. Is there a rule of thumb for the 2 points being to far away from one another? Or do they need to be as close as possible?

I fell like I am being a pain asking all these JS questions but this is my first attempt at this and I appreciate the knowledge base here at OldMiniBikes. Most of you have forgotten more than the little bit I know about minibikes...

So thanks for your input and your time.

Doug

As close as possible so that the chain doesn't go loose and tight with swing arm movement. I recall a Taco 99 I had and that distance was around two inches.

There were many bikes produced which used an integral swing arm and jack shaft. Other members know, I forget stuff like that. If you go that route, your swing arm bushings need to be bearings, since bronze and the like wont stand up to JS rotation.

No rule of thumb though, since the effects on the drive chain are predicated by the length of the chain and the moment of angle. The chain will serve as an anti-squat device and limit your travel if your shock absorbers don't.

MX bikes went through a chain-tossing era when travel doubled in the mid-70s.
Before, being in-line was enough, and on a short-travel mini, likely still is.
But, it should be pretty easy to incorporate JS and swingarm pivot.