max torque clutch install and oiling

ok here we do a install and oiling of a max torque clutch .this will be how to mount one using the set screws .

ok check that the key fits in the slot on the crank and the clutch.

use a small rat tail file to remove any burs , or rust in the slot . the key should slide nice free no binding .

once you have the shaft and key way cleaned up so the clutch slide on easy . put some anti seize on the crank . if you dont have any go buy some . its really worth it . a little goes a long way and the time it saves dealing with stuck bolts and clutches is worth the price

this is the 16 oz can i have been using it for over 10 years on everything and still have a half can left . go buy some .

ok line up the key ways and get the key

if the key is too long like here . dont hammer it in pull the key out and cut it to the correct length.

if you must hammer the key in you must do it like this

note location of finger , now hammer on the key .if the clutch wont slide on the shaft with out binding grab a big hammer and hold the clutch and hit it as needed . once again note how to hold it

ok now that you have the clutch and key in place tighten up the set screws . you will want to check them a few times when you first ride . they can come loose just keep checking them from time to time . once you get them tight they will stay tight for a long time .
you can also put a bolt and washer on to hold the clutch in place if your crank is threaded . use a washer thats bigger then the hole for the crank on the clutch or the clutch will fly off on you .

ok now how to clean and oil your clutch .
you will need snap ring pliers ,if you dont have any go get some trust me . youll like having them makes thing go much faster (less trips to the hardware store for snap rings )

remove the snap ring on the pulley or sprocket side

with that ring gone you can split the drum from the weighs .