Powell Challenger Resto

Hey Guys, Let me introduce my self I am Mike palmgren this is my first time posting on here . I own Vintage motorsports I do mainly off road restorations , tons of 3 wheel ATCs and MX bikes and have been doing more and more mini bikes. i have a powell challenger that is just about done that i am building for my good friend Rich Winkler owner of dirt wurx the supercross track designing and builder for all the pro AMA supercross. I wanted to put this out there as i am looking for the correct rated spring for the swing arm , the one I have in there now is the one that came with the bike but it is way to soft i cant literally push the bike up and down with my finger. If anyone has a correct spring or knows where to get one with the correct spring rate i would greatly appreciate it . Also If anybody is looking for one I am having a mold made right now to start making clutch covers in fiberglass for this model should be done in the next month or so . Thanks in advance Mike

Attachments

CarPlayLB

I used two springs in my Powell to support my large exterior! I used a very heavy spring inside the original spring...works great now. I never had any luck finding the right OEM spring

Sweet Powell dude , my brothers and I have a few of these bikes , we also had an E when we were kids . I myself have a E model .
Can you post a close up pic of how the Powell spark arester is mounted to the TEC muffler .

Last edited:
I will take a picture at the shop tommorow of the muffler setup it basically is a clamps that wraps around the stock tec muffler, and the powell spark arrester has 2 nubs that lock it into the holes on the outlet of the muffler .

6doggie3

Thanks for starting a tread Powell looks Killer!
I'm still trying to find a few springs my self?
Is the drive belt new and can post brand and
# on the belt? Thanks , Michael

If anyone has a correct spring or knows where to get one with the correct spring rate i would greatly appreciate it .