swing arm questions

vegetable

looking to build a rear swing arm for my motovox and i have a few questions
1. what is a sutable amount of tube to get for making one?
2. how can i keep the chain tight with a clutch to accommodate for the swing arm travelling?
3. how can i make the rear axle brackets? is there tube that looks like the tube for the front forks, or how can i fab it myself?

just looking for advice, because im pretty sure i have a general idea how a swing arm functions, just not how i could make a pivot point/chain tension work out for me

nightgrider

I'm no expert but, I'm sure others will chime in. The difficulty of this project will depend on your fabrication skills and tools available to you. To answer your questions.

1. By amount, do you mean length or tube diameter? Most older mini bikes are 7/8 inch tubing, but your motovox is a newer bike (at least for me). You should measure your bike's tubing diameter with a caliper to find out its diameter. DOM (Drawn Over Mandrel) steel tubing is what you will want to look for. Length is going to be determined by you and what you're looking for.
2. The best way move the chain's pivot point as close to the swing arm's pivot point as you can. This is usually done using a jackshaft. One chain runs from the clutch to the the jackshaft. And another chain from the jackshaft to the rear sprocket.
3. I believe there are some vendors online that sell them like, go power sports, but you should check out hent.com. He can probably hook you up and he is an administrator on this site. You can also make them yourself out of 3/16 inch steel plate. You'll want to slot the axle holes so you can adjust chain tension.

Hope this information helps and good luck on your project.

Last edited:

vegetable

I'm no expert but, I'm sure others will chime in. The difficulty of this project will depend on your fabrication skills and tools available to you. To answer your questions.