Tecumseh for Rupp slant mount

I just picked up a Rupp frame. It has the slant mount for the engine. I have seen the Tecumseh engines with the slant intake but am wondering what other differences are there with the engines for the rupps.
Would a regular Tecumseh 4hp engine with the slanted intake work fine?

Thanks for your help

Phil

I am no expert on Rupps (I own a couple though) but yes the output of the crankshaft is longer than normal to accomidate the original driver clutch.

I have put an original driver on a regular length crankshaft replacement engine and it worked fine for me. You will need the slant intake to level off the fuel bowl though for sure.

jrzmac

I think Rupp had Tecumseh make 3" crankshaft's for them. The engine I put in had a 2 1/2" crank and I have no problems. I also bought a new bolt 1/2" longer than the original. I wouldn't go smaller than 2 1/2" on the crankshaft though!

Actually the 1970 rupps and a few of the early 71's had larson pumper carbs and no angled intake. I switched my 70 over to a slanted intake and tecumseh carb for better performance. I have seen people use a regular intake on the angle, but i never tried it?

toomanytoys

Actually the 1970 rupps and a few of the early 71's had larson pumper carbs and no angled intake. I switched my 70 over to a slanted intake and tecumseh carb for better performance. I have seen people use a regular intake on the angle, but i never tried it?
I have a regular intake on my Blackwidow, and its fine so far.

Like jrzmac said the shorter crank will work fine, you just need to use a longer t/c bolt, the carb will also work fine mounted on a angle, I have quite a few of them mounted that way with no problems.