Ways to speed up your Predator 212cc without removing governor?

I'm currently running a 212cc Predator on my minibike and am irritated that the max speed on it is 24 mph.

Here is what I've already done to the engine:
1. higher flow exhaust
2. aftermarket K&N air filter
3. new jet kit
4. reduced gear ratio from 1:6 to 1:5 (12:72 to 12:60)

Any ways to inexpensive ways speed my bike up? I have an 8 degree timing key but can't get the flywheel off and I dont even know if that's going to help at all either.

image.jpg

This is JMHO but you can go up o the clutch sprocket or keep going down on the rear , but your getting to the point where you will just need more motor to pull the bike .
So it's like this you need more RPM's , which means taking off the gov and installing a new flywheel and a new rod meaning billet .

Both David and Dave are making very good suggestions.:thumbsup:
And to add..you could even get taller tires and keep the rims...that would help a bit also.

Last edited:
You'll never get it over 3600 with the governor. It just won't happen. Tire size and gear ratio will help, but I don't think you'll be happy with that either. Going fast is expensive. You're looking at a minimum of $175 for the billet parts. After that, you'll get bored and want the valves to stop floating, so 26lb springs and SS valves will be next. While you've got those out, you might as well get a new cam. If you're bored after that, you'll look at alky and a striker crank. See what I mean? Stupid mini bike addiction.

Hi, it appears we have very similar bikes. I'm having no troubles getting well over 24mph with gearing alone. Unless you're a big fella gear up. There seems to be plenty of power on the stock 212 to get well beyond 24mph.

I'm currently at 49mph, stock engine, 17-60 gearing.