what fuel or fuel mixture do you use?

I'm building an Azusa minibike with a Powerfist 208cc, which I call the Canadian Predator clone. I'm leaving the governor in, but using the longer hotter plug for more compression, size 34 carb jet, heavy duty valve springs and have a Gokartsusa exhaust pipe and muffler. I'm planning on running 91 octane, ethanol free gas because I know how ethanol screws up engines, especially 4 stroke motors like these.

I'm just wondering if anyone else feels the same, or are people just running 87 octane with 10% ethanol? I work in the fuel refining industry and know this subject very well and wouldn't use 87 octane in my car so I wouldn't put it in a new minibike engine. I'm also going to be adding a small amount of fuel additive/cleaner/lubricant and octane booster usually used in NHRA Pro Stock racing, which will get the octane up to about 93-94 points.

I'm new to this hobby so I'm curious if anyone is running customs fuels or anything. I run 91 octane, zero ethanol fuel in my car with the additive/booster and in summer, I mix 8-10 ounces of 100 octane racing fuel so I'm used to mixing up my own blends for specific purposes.

For the engine you have described, you are wasting your $$ on 91 octane- absolutely no need for that. We have been using regular unleaded pump gas 87 octane for years in our bikes w/o a single problem. We DO ,however, always use "Sta-Bil" brand fuel stabilizer, which keeps the gas from going bad. We add 2 ounces to our 2 1/2 gallon fuel container every time we fill it up. A little bit goes a long ways and is very inexpensive.
Michael

You should do what makes you happy. :thumbsup:

A spark plug is not going to change the compression ratio. 87 octane is plenty for these engines in stock form.

If you aren't running 5000+ rpms you don't want or need heavier valve springs either.

Improper storage with fuel in a vented system screws up engines, whether it has ethanol in it or not. In my opinion.