Who would be screwed by an unexpected $10k bill?

This thread popped up on another board I go on. Results were interesting.

For me, I can deal with a $10k bill and it's not a big deal at all. Let the dick swingin' commence...

edit: Not a big deal, but I wouldn't be happy about it. Rather spend that on fun stuff.

Last edited:

Itype2slo

Many years ago as a contractor I had to go self employed and had to make tax payments on a quarterly basis. My wife at the time didn't' take notice and I got a 10k bill. Turns out the IRS had a bigger one than me. Good luck.

catfishman

I would be, I remember sweating it 2 years ago when I had 2 house payments, but I priced my house right and sold it in 5 weeks. My old neighbors have had theirs on the market for about 8 months now, they are asking to much, but their other house was free.

I could do it too, but the moths in my wallet would starve and the lightness on my left side would make me walk in circles for a while.

You know what?
I would probably have chest pains for a while just thinking about lol

Seriously I think all of us have suffered a lot of discomfort this decade, nothing much has changed too.
So I hope no one has a nasty surprise this year as my somewhat belated new years wish.

Last edited:
It would be devistating for me unless I put it on my line of credit

Of course I could sell some toys , I have acumulated a lot of stuff over the years - trailers , atv , fishing boat , streetbikes and minibikes etc...... then theres the rc car collection , a few guitars and then tools lol

toomanytoys

I could do it. But it would hurt and id be sweating.

Taking money out of savings in my household has strict rules. Since me and my wife have been married we dipped into it once. And it was for an important event that we needed to expend the cash.

It has happened to me,about 4 times in two years.Totally wiped me out.Health declined with lymphoma cancer.Thats just copays.